Skip to main content

Oregon Can you legally sell food from home in Oregon?

Cottage Food Law

Oregon has three laws that allow residents to sell homemade food, which makes it one of the best states for selling homemade food products.

This page covers their basic cottage food law, which started in 2016 (SB 320) and was significantly amended in 2024 (SB 643). Those who want more flexibility with their home food business can use the Domestic Kitchen law, and those who grow the primary ingredient in their products may be able to use the Farm Direct law.

Under this law, producers can sell up to $50,000/year of nonperishable food products from home, online, at events, and through stores. Producers don’t need a license or inspection from the ag department, but they do need to take a basic food handlers course to get started.

Selling Where can you sell homemade food products?

To sell through a retailer (such as a coffee shop), the retailer must display your products separately from commercially-produced products, and must inform customers that the products are homemade and not inspected.

Starting a cottage food business?


How To Start A Cottage Food Business

Allowed Foods What food products can you sell from home?

Prohibited Foods

You can only sell dried products, freeze-dried products, or powdered drink mixes if those items are commercially produced. However, you can sell freeze-dried candy using the exemption below.

If you want to sell more types of products, you can get a domestic kitchen license. If you grow the main ingredient in your product, you may be able to use Oregon’s Farm Direct Bill.

Some products are exempt from ag department licensing:

  • Candy, candied apples, and other nonperishable confections*
  • Coffee, tea, and some other nonperishable drinks* (does not include fresh fruit juice)
  • Honey
    • All direct sales to a consumer are exempt
    • Indirect sales (wholesale) are exempt if the producer owns no more than 20 hives, but the producer must apply for the exemption
  • Pet food that does not contain meat

* must be sold in individual-sized portions, for immediate consumption only

Only "non-potentially hazardous" foods are allowed, but certain non-PHFs may not be allowed. Most foods that don't need to be refrigerated (foods without meat, cheese, etc.) are considered non-potentially hazardous. Learn more

Limitations How will your home food business be restricted?

Sales are limited to $50,000 per year
Starting in 2025, the sales limit will get adjusted for inflation each year

You must keep annual sales records for at least three years, including the types of foods produced.

To sell more than $50,000 of products per year, you can get a domestic kitchen license.

Business What do you need to do to sell food from home?

Food handler training program

Each person who prepares food for the business must complete a food safety training course. The test can be taken online for $10.

Labeling How do you label cottage food products?

Sample Label

Chocolate Chip Cookies

"This product is homemade, is not prepared in an inspected food establishment and must be stored and displayed separately if merchandised by a retailer"

Forrager Cookie Company

123 Chewy Way, Cookietown, OR 73531

Phone: (123) 456-7890

Ingredients: enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), butter (cream, salt), semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, milkfat, soy lecithin, natural flavors), brown sugar, granulated sugar, eggs, vanilla extract (vanilla bean extract, alcohol, sugar), baking soda, salt (salt, calcium silicate)

Contains: milk, eggs, wheat, soy

NET WT 2 lb 4 oz (1.02 kg)

If you don’t want to list your home address on your labels, you can request an ID number from the ag department, which you would put on your labels instead. You might have to pay a fee to get an ID number.

If you have pets in your home, you must disclose that on your labels, as well as the potential for pet allergens.

Resources Where can you find more information about this law?

Department of Agriculture
Department of Agriculture
635 Capitol St. NE
Salem, OR 97301
Law Dates
January 2016
SB 320
January 2024
SB 643

This page was last updated on

Is there something wrong on this page? Please contact us to let us know!

Starting a cottage food business?


How To Start A Cottage Food Business

Oregon Forum Got questions? Join the discussion

Home Forums Oregon

This forum contains 17 topics and 17 replies, and was last updated by  SubZeroPNW 1 month, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 10 topics - 1 through 10 (of 17 total)
Viewing 10 topics - 1 through 10 (of 17 total)

You must be logged in to create new topics.

or to ask a question or create a new discussion topic