Skip to main content

Washington

Washington is probably the most difficult state for someone to get started as a cottage food operator. The application for a cottage food permit is very long, and it requires the applicant to complete many of the steps a full food processor would have to complete. Most states that require cottage food operators to jump through many hoops to get registered also give them a lot more flexibility in how they choose to run their business, but in Washington, a cottage food operation is limited to only $25,000 of sales per year, and indirect sales (to restaurants, stores, etc.) are not allowed.

Fortunately, Washington has a lot of information online about their cottage food law, which helps clarify the complicated process. Before getting a permit, an operator must take a training course, get a business license, submit an application with a very detailed business plan, have their recipes approved, and get their home inspected. The whole process costs $240 or more (with an annual $230 renewal), and it could take up to two months for the operator to get approved.

After failed attempts to improve the law in 2013 and 2014, two amendments (SB 5603 & HB 1622) passed in 2015. Washington’s cottage food law went into effect in the summer of 2011, but it took almost a year for the government to finalize the application process and allow their first cottage food operator in the summer of 2012.

Selling

The operation’s permit must be displayed wherever sales are taking place.

Sales made through the internet must be picked up or delivered in person within the state.

Allowed Foods

Dried coffee, tea, herbs, seasonings, and other dry mixtures may only be made by recombining commercially-produced dry ingredients.

Products may contain a small amount of liquor (1% or less, by weight).

More information about allowed foods and prohibited foods

Only "non-potentially hazardous" foods are allowed, but certain non-PHFs may not be allowed. Most foods that don't need to be refrigerated (foods without meat, cheese, etc.) are considered non-potentially hazardous. Learn more

Limitations

Sales are limited to $25,000 per year

Business

Food worker card

The cottage food operator and all employees must obtain a food worker card before applying for a cottage food permit. A card costs $10 and is valid for 2 years. Most health departments accept a card from Do it Right, Serve it Safe, which is the only authorized online course in the state.

Master Business License

The operator also needs to get a Master Business License from the Business Licensing Service. The fees for a license vary from city to city, and they range from $0 to $125, with the average fee being around $50.

Cottage food permit

The operator must then apply for a cottage food permit, which costs $30 and must be renewed annually. There are a lot of application requirements, and here is a copy of the application packet. Requirements include a floor plan of the kitchen, detailed recipes and labels for each product, processing and packaging plans, an equipment list and cleaning plan, a sales plan, and a plan for child and pet management.

Public health review

Once the Department of Agriculture receives the application, they will conduct a public health review ($75) to ensure that the recipes and labels in the application are safe. Public health reviews must be conducted every year.

Home inspection

After the review, an official from the department will come to the home of the pending cottage food operation to do a kitchen inspection, which costs $125. If the kitchen doesn’t pass, every subsequent inspection will also cost $125. Each year, another inspection (and fee) will be required.

Private well testing

If the home kitchen uses a private water supply, the water must be tested and approved within 60 days of applying for the cottage food permit. This will incur additional fees, and the water must be retested annually.

The food worker card, business license, and water testing must be taken care of before applying.

When adding together the training, license, permit, review, and inspection, the base cost of getting started is between $240 and $365. It could cost even more than that with additional employees, a private water supply, or the need for more than one inspection.

After the operation is approved, if any changes are made to the business, then a permit amendment must be submitted at the same individual fees listed above. For instance, adding another recipe to the application would cost $105, because it would require a public health review and a new permit.

The permit period for cottage food operations is from February 1st through January 31st. Each year, operations must renew their permit, which will cost at least $230.

Labeling

Sample Label

Chocolate Chip Cookies

"Made in a home kitchen that has not been subject to standard inspection criteria" (11-point type)


Forrager Cookie Company

123 Chewy Way, Cookietown, WA 73531


Ingredients: enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), butter (cream, salt), semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, milkfat, soy lecithin, natural flavors), brown sugar, granulated sugar, eggs, vanilla extract (vanilla bean extract, alcohol, sugar), baking soda, salt (salt, calcium silicate)


NET WT 2 lb 4 oz (1.02 kg)


If a nutritional claim is made on the label, a nutrition info panel must be included as well.

If a product contains liquor, the label must state “This product contains liquor and the alcohol content is one percent or less of the weight of the product.”

Large cakes or bulk items may be labeled with a separate product sheet containing the required information.

For more information, see the labeling requirements (law) and sample labels

Workplace

Only the cottage food operator and the operation’s employees may be in the kitchen while food preparation is occurring.

Cottage food products may only be stored within the home, and they must be placed in a designated area to separate business items from those for personal use.

More workplace requirements may be found in the basic hygiene and production requirements sections of the laws. There are also a number of recordkeeping requirements.

Resources

Contacts

Food Safety and Consumer Services Division

Department
WA State Department of Agriculture
Email
[email protected]
Telephone
360-902-1925
Fax
360-902-2087
Address
PO Box 42591
Olympia, WA 98504-2591
Law Dates
July 2011
SB 5748
June 2012
WSR 16-149-060
July 2015
SB 5603
July 2015
HB 1622

This page was last updated on

Is there something wrong on this page? Please let us know! You can submit changes through this form.

Comments

Just wanted to say, some of this info is outdated. Look up info on the current laws, we have recently had some positive changes!

Hi,
I want to apply for the licence as a baker. There are no frostings allowed with whipped cream or cream cheese even as secondary ingredients?

or comment as a guest
* required (your email will not be displayed on the site)
Allowed tags