Skip to main content

Rhode Island Can you legally sell food from home in Rhode Island?

Cottage Food Law

In 2022, Rhode Island passed H 7123, becoming the last state to allow all residents to sell homemade food. Prior to 2022, Rhode Island only had their Farm Home Food Manufacture law, which 99.8% of residents couldn’t use.

This law allows anyone (not just farmers) to register as a “cottage food manufacturer”, which costs $65 per year.

Unlike most states, Rhode Island only allows manufacturers to sell nonperishable baked goods, and limits sales to $50,000 per year.

Manufacturers can sell directly anywhere within the state, including selling online and shipping products within the state.

Farmers that sell at least $2,500 of agricultural products per year can also use the Farm Home Food Manufacturer law, which has no sales limit and allows other types of products.

Selling Where can you sell homemade food products?

Starting a cottage food business?

TAKE THE FREE MINI COURSE

How To Start A Cottage Food Business

Allowed Foods What food products can you sell from home?

If you sell at least $2,500 of agricultural products per year, you can use the Farm Home Food Manufacturer law, which allows all types of nonperishable foods.

Only "non-potentially hazardous" foods are allowed, but certain non-PHFs may not be allowed. Most foods that don't need to be refrigerated (foods without meat, cheese, etc.) are considered non-potentially hazardous. Learn more

Limitations How will your home food business be restricted?

Sales are limited to $50,000 per year

Your pets must ALWAYS be kept out of your kitchen and other food prep areas (even when not preparing food).

Business What do you need to do to sell food from home?

Food Safety Training Course

Before registering, you must take an approved food safety training course, such as Learn2Serve’s Food Handler Training course, which costs $8 and takes about 2 hours to complete online.

Cottage Food Registration

Before you can sell your food products, you must register with the health department, which costs $65 per year.

To complete your registration, you must:

  1. Fill out the application form
  2. Sign and notarize the affidavit of compliance
  3. Complete other requirements listed in this section
  4. Create a sketch of your kitchen on your property
  5. Verify your SSN or EIN
  6. Pay the $65 fee
Sample Labels

When you register, you must attach labels for all of the products that you will sell in your business.

Private Water Source

If the home is on private water supply, the water supply must be tested once per year.

When you register, you must include the location of your water source and septic system (if applicable) on the sketch of your property.

Labeling How do you label cottage food products?

Sample Label

"Made by a Cottage Food Business Registrant that is not Subject to Routine Government Food Safety Inspection" (10-point type)


Forrager Cookie Company

123 Chewy Way, Cookietown, RI 73531


Phone: (123) 456-7890


Ingredients: enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), butter (cream, salt), semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, milkfat, soy lecithin, natural flavors), brown sugar, granulated sugar, eggs, vanilla extract (vanilla bean extract, alcohol, sugar), baking soda, salt (salt, calcium silicate)


Contains: milk, eggs, wheat, soy


If you prepare a product in a commercial kitchen, you do not need to include the above statement on your label.

Workplace Are there any home kitchen requirements?

You must have all of your recipes (with ingredients, quantities, processing times, & procedures) available in your kitchen for review by an inspector.

If you use a commercial kitchen to produce your products, you must maintain a record of the dates that you used the commercial kitchen.

You must either have a 2-compartment sink or a dishwasher with a sanitizing function that reaches 150 degrees Fahrenheit.

There are many other workplace requirements that you can find in Section 21-27-6.2(1 & 2) of the law.

Resources Where can you find more information about this law?

Department
Department of Health
Contacts
Department
Rhode Island Department of Health
Telephone
(401) 222-2749
Law Dates
November 2022
H 7123

This page was last updated on

Is there something wrong on this page? Please contact us to let us know!

Starting a cottage food business?

TAKE THE FREE MINI COURSE

How To Start A Cottage Food Business

Rhode Island Forum Got questions? Join the discussion

Home Forums Rhode Island

This forum contains 2 topics and 2 replies, and was last updated by  David Crabill 7 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 2 topics - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
Viewing 2 topics - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

You must be logged in to create new topics.

or to ask a question or create a new discussion topic

Comments

Comments are closed. Please use the forum above to ask a question or leave a comment.