Arizona Can you legally sell food from home in Arizona?
Cottage Food Law
Arizona created their initial cottage food law in 2011 (HB 2103) and amended it in 2018 (SB 1022) to allow more types of food products.
Arizona has one of the most successful cottage food programs of any state, with over 10,000 businesses registered as of 2021.
This success is in large part because Arizona has made it very easy (and free) to register as a cottage food producer. Once the producer has taken an online training course, they can register online and get approved within a few days.
Overall, their cottage food law is very good. It allows producers to sell anywhere within the state, including indirect sales (in grocery stores, coffee shops, etc) and shipping within the state. There is also no limit to how much a producer can sell.
Although producers can sell most non-perishable foods, there are a number of non-perishable foods that are prohibited, like frostings containing any kind of dairy, pickles (and other acidified foods), and dried fruit.
Unlike all other states, Arizona’s law specifically caters to facilities for developmentally disabled individuals. A facility can use the law to allow their residents to make food products for sale.
Selling Where can you sell homemade food products?
You can sell your products anywhere within the state, including shipping within the state.
You must display your certificate of registration when selling at events (like farmers markets).
Allowed Foods What food products can you sell from home?
See the official approved foods list here.
Frostings cannot contain any dairy ingredients.
Only certain types of jams, jellies, & preserves are allowed.
If your product is not on the allowed nor prohibited lists, and is a non-perishable food, you may be able to get it lab tested and approved.
Limitations How will your home food business be restricted?
Business What do you need to do to sell food from home?
Before you can register as a cottage food producer, you must take an ANSI-accredited food safety training course, such as Learn2Serve’s Food Handler course, which only costs $7 and can be completed online in a couple of hours.
Here is some more info about the food handler training requirements. Some counties in Arizona require you to get a food handler card that is issued by them.
After completing your food handler course, you must register online with the health department.
You must renew your registration every 3 years.
See the health department’s FAQ page for more info about other steps you may need to take to start your business.
Labeling How do you label cottage food products?
Chocolate Chip Cookies
"This product was produced in a home kitchen that may process common food allergens and is not subject to public health inspection"
Forrager Cookie Company
Permit #: 12345
Ingredients: enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), butter (cream, salt), semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, milkfat, soy lecithin, natural flavors), brown sugar, granulated sugar, eggs, vanilla extract (vanilla bean extract, alcohol, sugar), baking soda, salt (salt, calcium silicate)
Produced on 6/4/2023
Here is some more information about labeling.
If applicable, your label must state “This product was made in a facility for individuals with developmental disabilities”.
Workplace Are there any home kitchen requirements?
Here is a list of production guidelines.
Resources Where can you find more information about this law?
- Arizona Department of Health Services
- (602) 364-3118
- 150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 140
Phoenix, AZ 85007
I have a wonderful homemade recipe that is simply potstickers in a clear broth (Potsticker soup). Can I sell this online if I delivered in person?
How in the world do you say “Arizona has a very good cottage food law,” in one breath and in the next “it only allows producers to sell baked or confectionary goods. ” This would seem to be the epitome of a very bad cottage food law!