Talk with others about the cottage food industry in Florida
This topic contains 37 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Rachel parada 2 months, 1 week ago.
- October 29, 2014 at 1:45 pm #14615
You do need to collect sales tax on Prepared Food. You pay sales tax at the grocery store on items made there (subs, salads, etc) and sales tax when you go to a restaurant.January 7, 2015 at 11:05 am #16040
I was told by my county that I need a Federal iD number/Employer Identification Number. Is this require regardless of the fact I will not be charging sales tax on my goods? I did not know that that was also required for a small cottage food operation. Also, would I register as a sole proprietor?January 8, 2015 at 12:44 am #16051
Often an EIN isn’t required for a company that doesn’t hire employees, but you might as well get one if your county is asking for it — it’s very easy and free. You can register as a sole proprietor when you apply for your business license, though some businesses opt for a corporation: http://forrager.com/faq/#llcJanuary 14, 2015 at 10:21 am #16138
Hi. From what I have read this page has been very helpful.
I am starting a cookie company in Florida. From what I have read The Cottage Food Law is not permitted in Miami Dae county , but everywhere else in Florida it is?
If I start selling more than 15k a year what should I do in order to keep things legal?
Can you please let me know what permits I need and where I can tramit them since I am not a US citizen.
Thank you very much for your time,
MarianaJanuary 16, 2015 at 6:44 pm #16171
Mariana, Miami Dade is the only county I’ve heard that disallows cottage food operations, but there may be other counties that disallow them as well. Once you go over the $15K limit, you need to get a commercial license: http://forrager.com/faq/#commercial
Requirements vary based on where you live, but here’s some general info on getting the necessary permits: http://forrager.com/faq/#startingFebruary 28, 2015 at 8:45 pm #16812
Hi!, first of all thank you for doing this website, it is very useful!!!
I’m new to all this tax thing, so I’m trying to figure out everything.
I’m planning to start a bakery business from my house, this would fit into the Cottage Food Law. According to what I understood I don’t need a license but i checked with my City Hall and I need to pay a Business Licence.
Reading one of your answers to a question If I understood correctly says that I don’t need to charge tax or give a receipt for the sales I make. Is that correct? So, how I’m going to pay taxes at the end of the year? Or if I don’t earn more that $15,000 I don’t need to declare? I am a little bit confused.
Thanks in advance.March 1, 2015 at 7:00 pm #16821
Sales tax and yearly income tax are entirely separate. Sales tax greatly depends on where you live and what the requirements are for your city, county, and the state of Florida. Everyone has to pay income tax, regardless of how much it is. If you make enough, you’ll need to pay estimated taxes throughout the year, similar to a self-employed independent contractor.July 14, 2015 at 2:31 pm #19576
After reading the posts, looks like a trip to city hall to check on what I’ll need here in Florida in my town/county. One thing family members have been commenting on. Have people in the cottage food buisness been targeted much by inspections of thier kitchens. I plan on bread making and on following safe food handling practices. Just curious if it’s done very often.July 15, 2015 at 1:35 am #19581
In Florida, an inspection can only happen if a customer has a health concern/complaint. I have never heard of that happening to any CFO across the states… at the very least, it’s exceedingly rare.August 11, 2015 at 5:45 pm #20034
I am just starting selling some candies under the Florida Cottage Law and per my understanding I do not need to charge sales taxes unless I sell it at an event where my customers will eat at the location. If the candies are all in a package I do not need to charge sales tax. is that right?August 13, 2015 at 9:44 pm #20060
Actually candy may be one of the only items for which you do need to charge sales tax. For some reason, most categories, like baked goods, are exempt, but candies often specifically require sales tax. At least that is true in other areas of the country. I’m not entirely sure for your area and your situation.November 17, 2015 at 8:37 am #28349
Thanks David. This info was very helpful. After years of encouragement, I’m selling my grandma’s oatmeal cookies. The recipe is 500+ years old and everyone loves them. I have done a lot of research about Florida Cottage Food Laws and your advice was spot on correct.September 30, 2016 at 4:05 pm #35939
Hi, I just recently decided to start a little home bakery, I live in South Florida. Do I need to have any licensing, or insurance?October 3, 2016 at 10:16 am #35987November 1, 2016 at 3:33 pm #36412
How did you obtain your food safety certificate? Every time i google food safety certificate for Florida, only food manager certificate comes up, is this another name for it? please help. Thank you!
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.