Skip to main content
cottage food community

Louisiana

Louisiana’s cottage food law (Act 542) was started in 2013 and amended in 2014. The amendment (HB 1270) greatly increased the number of foods allowed, and it also increased the amount of regulations CFOs must follow. There is a sales limit of $20,000 per year.

Unlike every other law, Louisiana imposes specific restrictions on preparers of breads, cakes, cookies, and pies. Those odd restrictions indicate that other items would be relatively unrestricted in how they are produced and sold.

Selling

Breads, cakes, cookies, or pies may not be sold indirectly, which suggests that the other allowed food items can be sold indirectly at stores and restaurants.

Allowed Foods

Unlike most other states, custard or cream-filled bakery products are allowed, but only if pasteurized milk products are used.

Limitations

Limitations
Sales are limited to $20,000 per year

Preparers of breads, cakes, cookies, or pies must follow these special rules:

  • They cannot employ anyone to help them in the production of those items
  • Pets must be excluded at all times from preparation areas
  • If there are ingredients that require refrigeration, the refrigerator must stay at 45 degrees or below

Business

Sales Tax Certificate

A CFO needs to apply for a Louisiana General Sales Tax Certificate from the Department of Revenue, plus a local sales tax certificate (from any region it will sell in), before selling products.

Labeling

Sample Label

The label must have a statement that "clearly indicates that the food was not produced in a licensed or regulated facility."


Resources

Law Dates
August 2013
SB 18
August 2014
HB 1270
This page was last updated on

Comments

    No, you can’t sell ice products (or anything requiring refrigeration) under this law. In fact, you probably can’t consistently sell anything from your front yard due to zoning restrictions.

Where does barbeque sauce falls in with this law? I’m confused on whether or not this law applies to the making and selling of barbeque sauce out of my home.

We have sauces made with our own products, but at a restaurant kitchen. Dry seasonings at home. So, I should not need to label sauces “prepared at non liscensed facility” since they are? but I wouldn’t be able to sell them out of state online without an ingredient panel, etc? Straight dried pepper powders don’t need any nutrition info & I’m not sure about if they need to be taxed either – or not taxed like fresh produce? Just the product, business address… but do I still need to go to USDA to sell out of state on single dried spices & dried whole hot peppers?

I guess as long as I clear the tax requirements, I’m good to go in everyway as long as I sell everything myself in Louisiana – but need to go to the federal level to sell out of Louisiana, online, and to stores in & out of Louisiana for resale?

    If you’re not producing at home, then you can ignore this law and its restrictions. There are other laws, licenses, and requirements you have to follow if you are using a commercial kitchen, and those would allow you to sell interstate. I’m not sure if you can sell homemade food interstate — probably not.

or comment as a guest
* required (your email will not be displayed on the site)
Allowed tags